Posted in COLORS, EVENTS, FEELINGS, RANDOM TALK, TRAVELS

SOLO TRAVELLER IN VENICE

Hi everyone! It’s nice to write on my blog again. Usually I’m always packed with things to do and have little time to update my page here. Since tonight I have some time for myself here I am going to explain in detail my last week travel to Venice.

First of all: I was alone and even so I had a great time! So if you are wondering if the most romantic city in the world is solo traveller friendly it is definitely a YES! I spent 5 days in a hostel on Giudecca island, in front of Venice, and since the room was cheap I got to spend my extra money on food, things and some presents for myself.

I was in Venice in December 2015 the last time and since it was so windy and chilly after sunset we were mostly in the apartment we rented for the stay after 5-6 p.m, so this time I decided to experience Venice in a sunny month and September was definitely the right choice!

It was my first time travelling alone since usually I only spend the time on trains and such by myself, after that I usually meet up with others. This time I was alone for the entire stay and I got to know myself more.

Travelling alone is an experience I highly recommend to everyone especially the ones, like me, who think of themself as independent and loners. I always believed I was a kind of person who needn’t people to be happy and I was wrong. I realized it the first night, while in my room I kind of felt lonely with no one to share my journey with. But after that first night I spoke to the people who shared my hostel: French, English and Canadians youth like me who wanted to experience Venice the best they could.

My travel consisted of 5 days and every day I wanted to experience different sides of Venice so I planned my schedule very carefully:

1st day: I arrived in the early afternoon in Venice, got to my hostel and unpacked.. Then I explored Giudecca island who is different from the main Venice we know. There are small parks, new modern houses, a university and the best small streets where you would want to get lost forever. After memorizing the position of the supermarkets, restaurants and such I ate pistachio ice cream and watched the best sunset view of the entire stay!

2nd day: my birthday. I wore my best frilly white dress and explored Venice. Got to the hebrew area, my loved one, where I ate my favourite Kosher sweets and then off to S.Marco. In the middle of the day there was a huge storm and I got wet from the rain… even so I stayed out till 8. S.Marco during sunset was magical, full of lights and music orchestras… Ate Spaghetti with clams in a high-end restaurant with the best view on S.Marco to celebrate my birthday.

3rd day: Murano and Burano. Murano is peaceful and beautiful for a quick stay. I highly recommend it if you want to see the glass-makers doing their job. There are exquisite restaurants everywhere and glass boutiques where you can buy gifts. Ate there and then headed off to Burano a 30 minutes ride on the ferry-boat. Burano was a huge surprise for me! It’s a small island with a park all around it and in the middle colorful houses everywhere. The colors were so vivid and the boutiques full of frilly things to buy… Best spot for couples to take pictures of course.

4th day: Lido’s beach. I spent the entire day by the sea and it was awesome. The sun was so warm and th sea breeze so soothing. I walked a lot, swam, read and ate. I got so tanned in only one day that I was seriously surprised… Drank a fresh strawberry 500 ml smoothie while heading back and got lost… Ferry-boats change slightly routes after 7 p.m and I didn’t know it so I had to stay another 1 hour out because I needed to take another one to return to Giudecca.

5th day: I left my baggage at the train station and stayed another 4 hours in the hebrew district, bought gifts and explored again the centre of Venice. Bought myself 2 chickenburger at Mc Donalds for the train ride and returned home with a feeling of accomplishment.

I suggest you to always cherish the memories of your past travels. I was a solo traveller and I spent 5 days as I was walking like in a dream. I got to do what I wanted without having to deal what others may want and this is why I totally recommend this kind of experience. I will return to Venice again for sure because it is already a beautiful memory to me and I will not ever forget about it.

To you all I can say only this: Travel as much as you can and never think of what others may think of it. Life is precious and too short to bother with others judgement!

Love you all from the bottom of my heart. ❤

 

Author:

Hi! I'm Eva. I'm italian and a hardcore cat lover. On my page you will find my travel guides, thoughts, photos and my original portraits. I graduated from art school and since then I keep drawing for myself and others. Thank you for watching! Bye :)

Leave a Reply

